Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

You are formally invited to enjoy fun and debauchery in the corn fields of Iowa October 4-6, 2013 in the form of the 25th Annual Iowa Leather Weekend. The titles to be awarded during the weekend will be Mr. Iowa Leather and for the first time, Ms Iowa Leather. Unlike most contests that combine the contests into one day, Iowa Leather will host the Ms Iowa Leather competition on Friday, October 4 and the Mr. Iowa Leather contest on Saturday Oct 5. A continuing tradition is the partnership with Le Chateau Exotique as the official Leather vender and Liberty Gifts as the official lube and toys vendor.

Judges for the Ms Iowa Leather contest will include Elena Franco, owner/producer Heart of America Leather Weekend, & Producer Kink-U Kansas City; Sarha, International Ms Leather 2013; Mike Pagano, cofounder of Titans of the Midwest and Mr. Iowa Leather 2011; His Most Imperial Majesty, Matthew ‘Wait for it’ Aspire, Emperor for Reign XX of the Imperial Court of Iowa; and Her Most Imperial Majesty Muffy Rosenberg, Empress for Reign XX of the Imperial Court of Iowa. Mark Turnage, Mr. Iowa Leather 2013, will be MC for the evening and Pup Itus will be the tally master.

The Blazing Saddle will be the host for the 25th anniversary of the Mr. Iowa Leather contest. The winner of this contest will go on to represent Iowa at International Mister Leather XXXVI competition in Chicago, IL May 2014. The panel of judges for this year's MIAL contest will be Chad Neil, co-founder KC boys of Leather, Chester Munroe, former Mr. Chicago leather, Sir Papa Bear, Great Lakes Leather Sir 2013, Jesse Driscoll, Mr. Midwest Rubber 2013, former Mr. Blazing Saddle, executive board member Titans of the Midwest, and Mr. Friendly - Team Iowa co-founder, and Mark Turnage, Mr. Iowa Leather 2013 and Top 20 IML XXXV contestant. The emcee will be David Watt, founder of the Mr. Friendly program and former Mr. Michigan Leather. The tally master will be Pup Itus and the den daddy for the evening is John Jack Trujillo. 

A Victory Brunch will be held on Sunday, October 6 at the Blazing Saddle at noon. The Iowa Leather travel fund will be the beneficiary for the Victory Beer Bust fundraiser held at the Blazing Saddle at 2 PM.

Anyone interested in competing should contact any Iowa Leather staff member or former title holder for the application. Applications may also be downloaded from the Blazing Saddle website.


GLLA 2013 WinnersSix Leather titles were bestowed during Great Lakes Leather Alliance 2013, held August 22-25 in Indianapolis, IN.

Master Michael and slave angie, of Illinois, were winners of the Great Lakes Master and slave 2013 titles; Sir Mark Eddy of Michigan took Great Lakes Leather Sir 2013 and his title boy, boy paul of Indiana was chosen Great Lakes Leather boy 2013. Lynn of Indiana became Great Lakes Ms Leather Pride 2013. Last, but not least, Bootblack Kai of Minnesota took Great Lakes Bootblack 2013.

Doug O'Keeffe held one of his Fireside Chats with Master Alex Keppeler who is the Director Emeritus of MAsT International (Masters And slaves Together), a non profit division of Butchmann’s, Inc., and an education, support and resource group for people living or desiring to live in a Master/slave or other power exchange relationship.

A few of the workshops and presenters were Age Play and D/s by Brett; Bat Shit by Ms Tammy; CBT/CBF stands for Cock n' Ball Torture/Cock n Ball Fun by Wicked Wanda; Intimate Scenes with Clips and Clamps by Lady Elsa and boi kris; Negotiation: Finding the Right Partner for Play or Stay by Sir Harold; Play Piercing and Beading by Master Todd and slave elizabeth; and Sensuous and Serious Caning by Master Morris and slave jonathan.


Oregon Leather 2013 Boy Bill By Brent SeeleyOregon State Leather Pride Week saw three new titleholders sashed at The Embers in Portland, OR and they are Ms Oregon State Leather 2013 Ms Stormy, Mr. Oregon State Leather 2013 boy bill, and Oregon State Bootblack 2013 Dara.

The emcees were Sandra Elliott and Jeff Halsey who kept the crowd of 150 or more engaged and energized despite the 80-degree temps and overcast skies.

The head judge for Oregon State Leather was International Mr. Bootblack 2012 Nick Elliott. Other judges were International Ms Leather 2013 Sarha, International Mr. Bootblack 2013 Sammy, Mr. Oregon State Leather 2012 Danny Cage, Seattle Leather Grand Dad 2012 Jeff Henness, Senior Leatherati Correspondent Leland Carina, Ms Oregon State Leather 2012 Michelle, and Northern California Community Bootblack Scout Hudson.

Oregon Leather Ms 2013 Stormy By Brent Seeley

On Sunday, August 11, 2013, Blackout Leather Productions held its Annual Rose and Thorn Awards Ceremony at Charley’s on Grand in the Courtyard by Marriott. The ceremony was held shortly after the Oregon State Leather 2013 contest Victory Brunch in the same location. In spite of the previous evening's Oregon State Leather Contest and RACK/Tribal! victory celebrations lasting into the early morning hours, Sunday's Victory Brunch and Rose and Thorn ceremony were well-attended thanks to countless carafes of coffee.

Brent Seeley at Portland Gay PrideThe Recipients of the 2013 Rose and Thorn Awards are:

Leatherwoman of the Year: DJ, longstanding member of Bad Girls and Portland Leather Alliance.

Leatherman of the Year: Nick Elliott, International Mr. Bootblack 2012 and Oregon State Bootblack 2011.

Business of the Year: The Local Lounge, a Portland, Oregon bar embracing several groups ranging from the Oregon Bears to the Boys/Bois in Leather Service.

Non-Profit Business of the Year: Camp KC, a program of Cascade AIDS Project, providing year round programming and services for families and their children that are impacted by HIV.

Community Choice Award of the Year: Bad Girls, BDSM Group for Women.

Since 1998, the Rose and Thorn process has begun with a call to the community for nominations of people and businesses in all categories. The BLP board selects the winners from the pool of nominees with the stipulation that the honoree cannot have won the same award in the past two years. The Oregon and Southwest Washington communities are home to many deserving and hard working people. Even with the two-year stipulation, the selection process is very difficult.

The Community Choice award is handled differently. The community provides nominees, but the winner is selected by a simple vote by the community at large.

There are no restrictions for nominees in this category.

To see who the past winners of the Rose and Thorn awards are click here.

Blackout Leather Productions is a 501(c)(3) corporation promoting the welfare, health and education of the gay and lesbian Leather/SM/Fetish community and eliminating prejudice against that community.